it’s beginning to sound a lot like…

Yup! Christmas.  I don’t know about you, but I go through phases, some years I can’t stand the rush, others I can’t stand the wait. For years I really hated Christmas. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mean hating the reason, I just hated the drama that came with it.  I am the product of divorced parents – I think there were VERY few years that my ‘dear santa’ letter, didn’t include for my parents to get back together… I’m not sure what that impact would have on me. Sure would’ve been a LOT easier on my guilty conscience.
Every year, I get the pleasure of telling everyone what my kids want for Christmas. Just once it would thrill me to have my own children join with me and say “NOTHING!” really. I mean, let’s be honest, we have a house to call our home, we have good health, we have family around us, we never go to bed hungry nor do we wake up wondering where our next meal is. Ok, so I’m not ALWAYS caught up on washing all the underwear, we still have clothes to wear.  I want to give back. I want my kids to see my example of giving with the expectation of getting NOTHING in return. I want them to see that by giving to others we are blessed.  When I hear & see Christmas I think about these things, it makes my heart feel glad to be ok to give and not receive.
So this year, when I say I want nothing more than for YOU to be happy & healthy, I mean it!  if you insist on giving something, go give blood…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to it’s beginning to sound a lot like…

  1. danceITgirl Amanda says:

    well said my friend! merry christmas!

  2. Linda Ruddock says:

    I love what you blogged here, I am in total agreement with you about the giving without expectations. You are a very beautiful daughter Jen, and I love you just the way you are.

Leave a Reply

