20 years!

2 decades.
a lot can take place in twenty years. I am not about to list an example… my husband and I started dating 20 years ago, we have both gone through many changes, some as individuals some as a couple. We spend most of our days apart but at the end of the day we are united again. At times I long for the hours to go by so I can spend time with him, but then sometimes we are on different mood-planets and being together for too much time isn’t always a good thing. Imagine a band being together for 20 years? that’s a long time.
Last night I got to spend the evening celebrating with Great Big Sea (BEST band EVER!) it’s their band-adversary, 20 years. As an *eager* fan I jumped on tickets as soon as the very first pre-sale was offered. I got roped into believing that I was getting perks with my purchase. Perks that included, VIP seating, Valet parking, Backstage passes, Lounge drinks/access…
Ya. There was NONE of that.
Our seats were good, not VIP. We sat center stage, row B – sounds awesome, as row B *sounds* like 2nd row right? -WRONG. there is AA, BB, CC, DD, EE, FF, GG, HH, A, then B – so all in all, still good seats. I would have been SO.MUCH.HAPPIER if the REALLY bad, old, comb-over dude wasn’t blocking most of my view…HamiltonPlaceSeatingFinal12utrzpz

Before the show, I met up with Donna, Christa & Shannon for supper. Once we got to the venue, I met up with Tammy & Gary and ran into Brenda and Cathy too. It was fun to see some friends that share musical interests 🙂 I wanted to make and bring the band some gifts, but I ended up stressing out about whether they’d “like” what I was planning, so much so, that I didn’t end up doing it at all… I did however, make some Irish carbomb cupcakes!!   who knew it would be such an ordeal to deliver them?!  I finally heard via Twitter that they did get them {yay!!}
onto the show…
I do think that being front row, is best for picture taking 😉  but honestly Hamilton place, sound-wise, there really isn’t a bad seat in the place.  The boys did a wonderful job engaging the audience with laughter, singing, shouting, dancing and even complete silence. It did seem apparent that Séan McCann wasn’t entirely into the show, I noticed a couple songs that he has solo parts in were skipped, however, then he would belt it out! Every time I hear him sing Mari Mac I think his head is going to pop off!
I have always enjoyed Séan’s voice and demeanor over the rest of the band, HOWEVER! I really do enjoy & love all of them!! 😀  Bob Hallett, looked & sounded GREAT! I have found in shows past, Bob seems exhausted – last night that was NOT the case, and there were plenty of beautiful smiles and he sounded AWESOME!! I love listening to Bob, and watching his many talents… ~wonderful!
Alan Doyle, is such a delight to watch perform. He really would be fun to hang out with and I bet he has some pretty fun tales to tell… I enjoy watching him “rock out” {even tho’ I’m a ~shanty~ kinda girl} 😉  the smile on that guy is simply gorgeous!
Kris & Murray weren’t really hamming up the show as they have, however, they too were definitely fun to see/hear.
and then there’s Séan… the music that floods me with happiness. I could listen to him all day, everyday…oh, wait, I have! {blush}  I noticed last night that he didn’t seem 100%  maybe I’m partial to his smaller venue solo stuff – I was hoping for General Taylor, but was thankful for hearing England. I was thrilled with just seeing them all!
I’m not sure I’m going to be chasing them all over the place for this tour.
I want to keep my GBS XX experience special ~ and they delivered.
my pictures weren’t spectacular, but they will suffice.
thank you Great Big Sea for 20 years of awesome!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 20 years!

  1. donna says:

    Hey lady…because I “heart” you (and your blog) I nominated you for a Liebster Award.
    Here’s a link to my blog for the details…share the bloggy love 🙂
    http://yellowdoggreetings.blogspot.ca/2013/04/thanks-chris-for-liebster-award.html

Leave a Reply

